Friday Dish: The Best Time

The best time for planning a book is while you’re doing the dishes. ~ Agatha Christie

I don’t know if that’s the best time but I do know that it seems when I am busy with something else a lot of ideas come to me. Like even a couple days ago I was running the dishwater when a scene for one of the stories I’m working on came to me. So yeah, maybe Agatha Christie had something on the dishes thing.

Perhaps it is just that it is better to take a break from sitting at the typewriter, computer or the desk with the pen and paper and just do something else. I find that stepping away sometimes inspires new characters and sometimes it even gets me a little more involved with the story I’m currently working on.

The dishes have to be done, food has to be cooked and life has to be lived. Stepping away from writing for a little while is inevitable. So step away sometimes and see where your imagination leads you.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week, same time, same place.

2 comments

  1. This happens to me every single time I get into the car for more than 20 minutes. All of a sudden I’m hit with all the inspiration in the world but as soon as I get home I’m like “crap, I forgot all the details.” ugh.

    • Oh, yeah…especially when it’s the best banter between leads and then it’s just gone. I started carrying a tape recorder that I could hit record when stopped at a light. But more often than not I forget the recorder now.

Leave a Reply

