Monday Musings: Quick and Easy

After my mom found the frozen shrimp in the freezer, which I thought there was another bag somewhere…who knew it was safely hidden in the ice cream maker…I knew I wanted to do something for lunch that was healthy and still really good to the taste. But with running around all morning trying to take care of business and all other responsibilities in life I didn’t have time to marinate the bell peppers, onion and other needed veggies. So after getting home in the near noon time frame realizing I had been up and at it since about two in the morning and hadn’t yet eaten I figured lunch, a.k.a. an early dinner, needed to be quick and easy.

pre-cooked veggies
Previous picture…not today’s meal.

I used the Stone Wave that I mentioned before. I like it because it works well, cooks the food thoroughly and quickly.

I defrosted just the amount of shrimp we both could use in our salad by putting it in a strainer and running cold water over it. Depending on which brand of frozen shrimp you buy the defrosting directions may be different.

Once it was defrosted I added it to the Stone Wave, sprinkled my seasonings (oregano, fresh sweet basil, parsley, paprika, cayenne pepper) over it and squeezed some juice from a fresh lemon over it (probably about 1Tbs).

I put the lid on and put it in the microwave for two minutes while I cut the bell peppers (red and orange), the onion (red) and the tomatoes (Grape, Mini Plum, Cocktail) from the Gourmet Medley carton. I cooked it two more minutes and cut up the washed Romaine lettuce while I awaited the finished product.

IMG_2723

Stone Wave is fun to work with for things from meals to sauces to deserts, it’s multifunctional. I like using the oven to bake my foods or just working a little on top of the oven, but sometimes the meal needs to be quick and easy. For quick and easy I like being able to use the Stone Wave.

Tomorrow I have a busy day ahead of me trying to get some things done that I couldn’t get done today, but I want to try something different for dinner. I hate fish, but my mom likes it so I’m going to cook it. I’m not saying I’m going to eat it, but I’ll cook it.

Leave a Reply

