Fly on the Wall Sunday: The Truth About Writing

It is only when you open your veins and bleed onto the page a little that you establish contact with your reader.  If you do not believe in the characters or the story you are doing at that moment with all your mind, strength, and will, if you don’t feel joy and excitement while writing it, then you’re wasting good white paper, even if it sells, because there are other ways in which a writer can bring in the rent money besides writing bad or phony stories.  ~Paul Gallico, “Confessions of a Story Writer,” 1946

What a highly potent confession and true. I find when I believe in my characters, when I want to know what happens next, that is when I crave to write their story. Even if I turn off the computer I feel them calling me back to write just one more scene. Those are the stories I breathe in and write with the excitement of solving the mystery of what they’ll do, what will happen next, and how will it end.

For stories that fade on the excitement level I find that trying to finish them feels like a child having a string tied around their tooth and tied to the door knob just to get that need to be shed tooth out–it’s not fun. Since I don’t feel a need to torture myself I tuck those stories away. Sometimes they get finished later with new excitement and new ideas. Sometimes they don’t get finished. For the stories that I finish and I’m not thrilled with, they don’t release simply because I no longer connect with or believe in the characters; without that passion and belief I don’t feel as if I’m putting my best work forward so I don’t put it out there at all.

Writing my soon to be released book was one of those books that raged within me to be written. It was hard, definitely one of those stories that made me cry for my leading lady, but the passion that came from within on this story gave me a finished book that I fully love and believe in. I shall share the cover and details on the book soon. Currently Kill List deserves a little more chatter and attention so I shall not shadow it’s fairly new release status with talk of the next book just yet.

Happy Sunday you all.

Kill List Cover

2 comments

    • I will share about the books. I like to talk about a lot of things, but books are definitely a major part of this blog so I will definitely be talking about them here. Please come back and check out this Sunday’s post for a fresh look at the upcoming release.

Leave a Reply

