Friday Dish: For the Love of Fitness

It has been a while since I have done a strictly fitness post here but today I’m talking staying fit. I kicked my morning off with a brief in room jog. I know, jogging is not all that good for the joints per the PT I used to work for, but sometimes I like to throw it in to my workout. The cardio from it feels great to me, but I won’t do it every day because I would still like full use of my body as I age.

IMG_2181The newest thing to my fitness routine is this Yoga video: Yoga for Your Week. I’ll state from the start that I have not done all five workouts yet so I can’t vouch for all of them at this time. However, I did the A.M. Connection routine and I liked it. It was different than some of the yoga I usually do so here’s what I liked about it and why.

  1. The voice over is calming.
  • I don’t know if it’s the alto tone or what but that voice on a man is peacefully inviting which makes the morning workout routine on this video relaxing yet still a workout.
  1. It moves slower into the moves and out of them.
  • I have done more swift Yoga workouts but when it comes to holding some of the poses I do like to hold them longer. It really helps to work all the tight spots into some type of limberness. When just waking up and doing the workout it’s great to kick the day off with a transition from bed to work day. Perhaps next time I should consider doing this before cardio, but there is something great about ending with a great Yoga stretch.
  1. The only move that was moderately uncomfortable for me was the Hero Pose. I like the stretch but I shall have to modify it a bit next time.

I am considering ending my day with the P.M. Release routine but a lot will depend on how my day is going if I get a second workout in today or not.

Other routines on this DVD include Energy, Strength, and Flexibility. If you like Yoga, have done it before and would like to mix it up a bit then I would say you might like this video. As always, consult your physician before beginning a new routine.

If you are just thinking of getting started with Yoga, are on a limited spend budget or just don’t want to buy another workout video check out Tara Stiles. She has beginner, intermediate and advanced routines. No matter what your level of Yoga expertise happens to be you might find something that you can do via her routines on YouTube for free.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week, same time, same place.

Leave a Reply

