Friday Dish: Changes

I mentioned before that there would be some changes to the blog, and I have made some. I deleted pages, stopped the Grow with Words Saturday postings and have been constantly thinking of what I want to change visually. I look at this blog and I’m tired. It’s not that I loath writing or anything. I do like to write. In fact, I’m working the last edits for Black Rose now and it will (with hopes) be up before the end of this year (Christmas if I’m lucky). But I’m growing tired of this blog.

I tried to keep it more focused on writing so that people who like my work could get in touch with me if need be. I left Facebook so I thought it would be better to try to restructure this blog to just be about writing. But I know me and I love other things. Some people followed me on a knitting post and as I checked out their work I realized they liked knitted crafts. I thought it would be great to spend a little more time on that, plus music, where others have followed me, sewing, and fitness–which I love. So I tried to work them in without letting them overpower the writing aspect because this blog was created mostly for writing stuff.

But, writing stuff bores me. Not writing itself because I love building fictional worlds I wish existed with characters I wish were real, and happy endings I wish were possible. I love escaping from reality into almost heaven with every book. From creating new worlds to working through some of my own problems, writing has always been there for me. It will never abandon me unless I abandon it.

But the blog thing…yeah, I kind of don’t like it. I find I miss more days now than when I first started, and I sometimes think the only thing that keeps me here is that I followed so many blogs I actually like to try to keep up with and I’ll lose touch if I delete this one. Seriously, my bookmarks are far too many to go bookmarking blogs I actually enjoy reading. I think there are some blogs buried in all those bookmarks already.

All that being said, I don’t know what I’m going to do with this blog. 2015 is just around the corner and I am embarking on many changes in my life so what that means for blogging I do not yet know. However I would like to say thanks to those of you who have been with me since the start, who followed me along the way, and who follow me still. Have a safe and wonderful weekend. And yes, the tagline is missing this time because I really don’t know if Friday Dish will be back next week.

xx

Capri Montgomery

2 comments

  1. I just recently overhauled and refocused my own website/blog too. And I’ve been spending less time with FB, Twitter, and the various media. It does get tiring, but my website is, or used to be, the main source of book sales for me. Something happened with Google and the ranking, though, and visitors and sales dropped considerably… which is what prompted the overhaul. It was a lot of work, but I like it better now, although I still don’t have a regular blogging schedule and all the advice says I need one, lol. I’m working on it. Good luck with whatever you choose to do.

    • 🙂 Thanks. I’m not sure what I’m going to do yet. Life is busy and I am still trying to get things together for the writing conference next year, but I’m thinking about it. I’m glad you got your site the way you want it. It is a lot of work, but well worth it if you get it the way you want it.

Leave a Reply

