Wednesdays with the Arts: Learning One Day At A Time

I’m currently getting ready for the IRR Expo next year. I know, it’s still months away, but I’m not the kind of person who waits until the last minute to get things together. I’m working on gathering things I need to get together so I can have everything ready in May. There is so much to be done, but I am a planner. I will plan things years in advance and keep tweaking them as needed.

In addition to writing, cello, knitting, sewing, life stuff…I’m drawing. The last time I talked about drawing I mentioned aliens. Fortunately, once my mother saw what I was trying to draw she agreed that the beginning steps of the picture does look like an alien–at least I wasn’t so far off the mark. So I kept going and you know what I learned? I actually draw a lot better than I thought. It’s not perfect. It still needs a lot of work. But once I added the ears and some hair my drawing looked a bit more like the finished project I am trying to draw. Of course I need to work on hair. I suck at drawing hair, which is odd because once upon a time I actually could put in different hairstyles…of course the head was always smaller so maybe that’s why. But I shall work on it.

I plan to work on drawing the female until I get it a lot better before trying to work on the male. I’m not working on the body yet, but I’m sure I’ll get there if I keep going. I am learning one day at a time, so I’ll get it eventually.

As for knitting…I’m putting the last of the rows on today for the wavy shawl so it’s almost finished. It’s at the required length, but I want to make it a little longer. Then I have to make a hat to go with it, a hat for my dad, and then on to something for me–a hooded scarf, a beaded shawl and a blanket. I gave my last blanket to my mother so I need to make one for me. This one looks harder so I’m saving it for last. After that…maybe I’ll get to the sweater, then the coat, and wherever else the knitting needles want to take me.

Happy Wednesday :).

Leave a Reply

