Grow with Words: Changes They Do Come

Hi everybody. For those of you who have been with my blog for a really long time then you know Grow with Words has been a staple to the Saturday postings. I did a search back on my blog and found that the first Grow with Words post was on October 1, 2011. We’re over three years into Grow with Words.

The first word for Grow with Words:

Obsidious: Besieging; besetting, siege like, besiege, unrelenting, attempt to overpower, an extensive period of misery.

I see that I found the definition on the Urban Dictionary site.

Since that time I have found Merriam-Webster, and other online dictionary sources to combine with my dictionary use off line as well. It’s been an interesting three years and some change of learning words and sharing some of them here on the blog.

Well, times they do change. So after a little over three years of Grow with Words I am ending the Saturday posts. Thanks to those of you who voted the first time to keep it on this blog. Honestly, if it were not for the Saturday postings, there are a lot of words I probably wouldn’t have come in contact with. The need to find words that could be interesting for the Grow with Words slot really had me looking into the dictionary a lot more and some of that reminded me of words I had forgotten while introducing me to words that I don’t remember seeing before. So I guess it’s safe to say that I learned some things just as some of you probably did as well.

It’s been fun, but I am changing the blog some. Next year is changing for me and if all goes well I will be in music school by the end of this year, there is the writing expo I’ll be at next year, I need to get back to my hometown to see my dad, and I have other ambitions I need to work on. Will everything come together? I don’t know, but if I don’t try I know I’ll end up being like one of those people I don’t want to be — the kind of person who looks back on their life in ten years and blames the entire world for their failure when in reality the failure is theirs to own because they didn’t even try.

So, the blog is definitely changing. Some things will stay, some things will go…I’m still working on figuring it all out, but I’ll keep you posted. If there is a section you would like to see stay then let me know and I’ll see if I can make it work.

Leave a Reply

