Monday Musings: Musical Mornings

Whitney Houston’s Run to You greeted me this morning in the comment section on a post elsewhere. I think it’s the first time this song has actually brought tears to my eyes. As I listened to it I thought about my leading lady in Kill List—the last book in progress for the Witness Protection segment of the Special Ops series. I think about her life, losing her parents, having her sister vanish, having to leave behind the path of life she had been working on, and then ending up watching her best friend get murdered, and how it’s almost as if she has to fight this alone. But the one man she runs to, the one man she know will be back to the States soon, is the only man who can keep her safe.

All of this kind of brings me back to how some women get upset that not every character in one of my books is like Valencia from Seducing the Bodyguard. Valencia is total kick butt mafia, assassin, and now bodyguard who is on the way to becoming the head of her mafia family. I like her strength and that she is perfectly capable of doing it all. But I also like the women like Thena from Secrets and Lies, those who are able to take care of themselves and shoulder responsibility, but can also ask for help when they need it. Of course with Thena she has a bit of “you handle finding out who killed my mother and I’ll find out who is trying to kill me,” type thinking which of course doesn’t fly with Thomas on any plane.

I like a realistic mix because no matter how strong a person is, sometimes it’s nice not to have to slay the dragon alone.

 

Leave a Reply

