Monday Musings: On Track Fitness

IMG_0288Finally, my Nutrition class has gotten to something I’m extremely interested in—fitness. Anybody who truly knows me already knows I love fitness and working out. I love healthy eating too so this class is interesting for me, but the fitness part is what I was very much waiting on to start. In week six, they finally got to it.

Children

Thus far I have learned that children and adolescents should do 60 minutes a day of either moderate-intensity aerobic activity or vigorous-intensity activity. It is also recommended that children do at least 3 days a week of muscle and bone strengthening activity. (http://www.cdc.gov/physicalactivity/everyone/guidelines/children.html)

Adults

2.5 hours of moderate activity a week is the minimum recommendation. Basically 2.5 hours is averaging out to about 30 minutes five days a week for those with limited time. Also recommended 2-3 times of training muscles (each muscle group) with weights or with strength building activities.

Since I don’t have kids, don’t work with kids, and am not in charge of helping kids get fit and in shape I focus on me because I’m an adult. My mother had asked me for my help, but as I tell her, you have to want it to make it happen. I can drag her out the house, I can do the research for her, but if she doesn’t put in the work it’s not going to happen. I can’t keep in her shape for her.

What I like about this week’s video lessons for class is the focus on how physical activity helps improve the overall body function and health.

I did a shorter workout this morning with cardio plus minor ab toning exercises, but the great thing about life is that we all have 24-hours in any given day, so what I make of those 24-hours is up to me. While I love to kick the morning off with a workout, I can also take a lunch break to get in extra physical activity. Even when I had a day job away from home I still took my lunch break to eat and then go walking. Now, working from home I might not have the mid-day longer break but I still, at the end of the day, when the computer goes off and my work is done for the day, I can still do yoga before bed.

After watching the videos this morning I’m thinking when I get my mother back home from her appointment I should pull out the sports bra and workout again. More cardio and flexibility focused yoga moves are definitely on my mind right now. There are 24-Hours in a day and it’s not going to hurt me to take one more of those 24-hours to get the kind of workout I typically like to kick the week off with.

Leave a Reply

