Hello Fitness

I workout in one fashion or another daily. Sometimes I’m just on yoga or reinstituting Pilates into my routine. Sometimes I’m full on cardio plus yoga and toning. I think I have to agree with the PT I worked for that jogging is damaging on the joints. I have had problems with my leg since instituting jogging. I’m a little addicted to jogging so I’m pulling it back and not doing it more than once a week. I’m planning to cut it out entirely.

The workouts I used to do all the time were dance workouts. I was a Belly Dancer once upon a time—yes, paid to dance too. But I started off in Belly Dancing as a workout. I loved it so much I took classes and when I moved to the PNW I did it as an additional way to earn income while doing a slight bit of teaching. I moved and due to location I ended up retiring after about a year. I still loved dance workouts and I got into Hip Hop dance, had some ballroom, but not a lot, bought the Core Rhythms videos and pretty much danced around the house whenever I felt like it.

For me, dancing wasn’t like a workout even though it was. I had so much fun with it that I wasn’t doing routines and counting the minutes until I could stop. So my advice would be to find something you like to do, get your cardio in, some toning, and don’t forget to stretch afterwards. Oh, yes, warm up before starting okay.

My workouts this morning included:

Scola ~ Dance Cardio Workout: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=32vMRkWrzLQ

Yoga Total Body: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_ngi5RHP7c

Yoga Crazy Core: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVpiJOY-WwA

I had so much fun with the Scola one so I am going to do that one again for sure. She has other dance workout videos so I’ll try some of those. The biggest thing for me is modifying where need be because of my leg, but fortunately I’ve learned to listen to my body and I know when I need to modify a move.

Have fun, stay healthy, stay fit.

Capri Montgomery

Leave a Reply

