Fly on the Wall Sunday: Introversion

Friday I mentioned that I’m an introvert. I draw my energy from within me. I linked to the article What is Introversion, by Kendra Cherry, that I will also spend today discussing. I kept reading and I found this one to be very accurate. All sections in “quotations” are from the above mentioned article.

Accuracy:

“ Introversion is marked by a number of different sub-traits:

  • Very self-aware
  • Thoughtful
  • Enjoys understanding details
  • Interested in self-knowledge and self-understanding
  • Tends to keep emotions private
  • Quiet and reserved in large groups or around unfamiliar people
  • More sociable and gregarious around people they know well
  • Learns well through observation”

All of the above fit me. So I kept reading to see what else would fit me.

Yes…Yes…and Yes Some More

“introverts are often labeled as shy, aloof, and arrogant, Rauch explains that these perceptions results from the failure of extraverts to understand how introverts function. “Extr[a]verts have little or no grasp of introversion,” Rauch suggests. “They assume that company, especially their own, is always welcome. They cannot imagine why someone would need to be alone; indeed, they often take umbrage at the suggestion.” (cited in What is Introversion from an article in Atlantic Monthly)

Well I haven’t been labeled arrogant but I have been told I was shy, or distant and that I may come off as “standoffish”.

I have recently realized I am not shy. I am an introvert but I do not actually fit the true definition of being shy. Although there seems to be a mix of opinions on what being shy is. At any rate, I am not afraid to speak up for myself or defend myself. I just prefer not to waste my energy on stupid people. So I do not always speak up because it is much more peaceful to just walk away. Happiness is a choice, they say; sometimes I choose it by walking away.

This To:

“Introverts often find that other people try to change them or even suggest that there is something “wrong” with them.”

Yep; I’ve come across this. I just try to avoid people like this. Everybody has a breaking point and I would prefer not to reach mine.

Yes to Infinity:

I hate sells jobs. I can do them, I just hate them. I go home exhausted and I spend my day wishing I could escape. This list here definitely is accurate…well, except for one part.

“careers that involve working independently are often a great choice for introverts. For example, an introvert my enjoy working as a writer, accountant, computer programmer, graphic designer, pharmacist or artist.”

Okay, maybe a few parts. Accountant is a definite no. I also don’t think I could be a pharmacist. Computer programmer might be out too. But writer—hello, that would be me, artist, and graphic designer—I have my certification in this, are definitely something I enjoy. I also love music and sewing and knitting. Now if only I could find a steady job in any of those things that would be great. I did work as a copywriter before the company moved away. I think I would enjoy doing that again.

Are you an introvert or an extrovert? Do people assume things about you that aren’t true? Share & discuss.

2 comments

  1. Introvert, but my brother is an extrovert. He loves being around people while I am perfectly happy staying home and reading a book :).

Leave a Reply

