Friday Dish: Solitary

Wednesday I talked about one of the things I liked about writing. Today I’m talking about another one—being solitary.

I’m more introverted. I draw my energy from within me, not from the people around me. There’s nothing wrong with that. I am comfortable on my own. I am happy alone, or with the people I am closest too, i.e. my mother. This section found in the article reachable by the above link actually does fit me: “Introverts tend to be more quiet, reserved and introspective. Unlike extraverts who gain energy from social interaction, introverts have to expend energy in social situations. After attending a party or spending time in a large group of people, introverts often feel a need to “recharge” by spending a period of time alone.”

Writing allows me to really enjoy the solitary world I often dwell in. But while writing can be a solitary activity, publishing is not as solitary as one might think.

Publishing kind of reminds me of junior high school. It’s not always about what you can do, but rather about who you know and what cliques you fit into. I have never been one to fit into any clique. I didn’t fit as a child. I didn’t fit as a teen. I didn’t fit in college. And I don’t fit in the publishing world.

Where do I fit? In my own world, especially my writing world. The movies they keep on playing. Sometimes I think there are too many movies playing in my mind. They lead to stories that I may never finish on paper. But I don’t ask for less because I think the day the movies stop clamoring around in my imagination is the day I stop writing. Now if that day comes and I have replaced writing with being an expert cellist I would probably be all the happier for it, but for now, writing is a part of my world and I kind of like it the way it is. However, I really would love for some of the movies to let me finish writing them before they give me another one. I know; write faster. But you know that would mean I would have to write a book a day. Some days that would probably come down to a book an hour.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week, same time, same place.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

