Cello Diaries: Oh Cello

For all the times I think of how far I still have to go with cello I am still amazed at where I am now. Earlier this week while working on a major scale with positional shifting into fourth extended I had difficulty with the hand position. My third finger seemed to want to collapse which worked for one note, but was not so great for working my way backwards. Painful? Yes. I have played this note before, but never in this sequence and I think that made a huge difference.

I sighed, looked at the sheet music and said, “cello, I could hate you if I didn’t love you so much.” The next day of practice was better, and the day after that was better than that. I don’t have it up to tempo yet but it is getting better because practice has a way of doing that. Practice makes better.

Overall, I’m having fun with cello, despite some difficult moments I find that I’m getting things a little faster when I’m not stressing about not being able to get it. I’m looking forward to the next month of cello playing and I hope to get a firm grasp on the pieces I’m currently working on.

Leave a Reply

