Wednesdays with the Arts: Writing Cookies

Last week I mentioned being almost finished with a book I’m writing. Well, I’m still kind of just almost finished. My imagination goes where it wants to and I follow willingly. There’s no other way to do it for me otherwise I just end up drumming my fingers and trying to force something that isn’t ready to come to me and that doesn’t work. I just end up hating what I do that way. So instead of forcing it I just worked on one of the other stories…which I like a lot and have high hopes for actually finishing. It’s not romance—Yay! It’s different and still something I love so I’m hoping it goes the way I am planning for it to go.

The week has been busy so I haven’t been writing as long as I usually do on a daily basis. My mom is happy about that. She’s been trying to get me to take breaks for a long time. I’m working on it. We live in the same house; there’s no reason she should have to “always miss” me. Today is going to be another light day for writing. I’m on smoothie making and cookie baking duties.

Flourless Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

I used to love to bake, kind of like Inya in Watch Over Me. I just don’t have as much time to do it anymore. I found this recipe on tastykitchen.com You can find it there if you would like to go grab it for yourself.

I did these cookies last week. I cut the recipe in half. I also did not follow the last step of rolling these cookies in my hand. “A little sticky” is a lot sticky. I used the ½ teaspoon measuring spoon to scoop the cookie dough out of the bowl, and another spoon to push the dough out of the measuring spoon.

Wednesdays with the art cookie

Total cookie yield was 41 cookies. The recipe is only supposed to make 16-20 when done as a whole recipe and I did cut this recipe in half…but I also made smaller cookies since I didn’t roll them into 2-inch balls. I liked the final product. I wasn’t sure I would because of the ingredient combination, but I did. I have a request to make them again, so that’s what I’m doing today.

Wednesdays with the arts cookie 2

One comment

Leave a Reply

