Friday Dish: What I Love About Exercise

I have always loved to workout, even when I didn’t realize that’s what I was doing. We actually played outdoors as kids. At that time I didn’t realize I was actually doing something healthy for my body while having fun. I  remember long walks with my mom. I never saw it as a workout. I just had fun hanging out with my mom and walking for miles upon miles.

It’s not really a surprise that eventually my love for physical activity developed into something of my own. Clair, from Dangerous Obsessions, and I have a love of fitness and nutrition in common.

In college I worked out once a day and actually used my elective for a kickboxing class. I figured that would help me suffer through math class…yeah, math still stressed me out. My NP offered to give me drugs for my stress. Fortunately, being a psych major, and so not into drugs, I knew drugs weren’t what I needed so I told her no. My problem wasn’t chemical. I was working full time during the day, going to school full time at night, taking care of my mom who was sick at the time and struggling (even with a tutor) through pass or fail math classes. That’s when my NP suggested I workout twice a day–once in the morning and then once after I got home. So I started doing that. I was also belly dancing so that helped too.

Fast forward to today and I can say that my love for working out is still here. It’s just that now I realize I’m not just having fun; I’m doing something good for my body. Back in my earlier years, while I didn’t eat a whole lot of garbage junk, I did eat some because I didn’t really realize just how bad for my health things were. But today things are different and I am a much healthier eater now than when I was decades younger. It comes down to doing good things for my body from the inside out while having fun and enjoying the foods I eat.

I still do my morning workout. When I started helping my mom get back into shape I added going walking with her even when I did my own morning workout. I’ve decided to add back in my lunchtime workout and I think maybe yoga before I go to bed.

Below are some toning exercises I found that I like. If you’re interested in any of them there are plenty on YouTube. It’s free, so you don’t even have to worry about having to find money to learn some new routines.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week, same time, same place.

Love Your Body — Yoga

Love your Arms and Abs

Love Your Body — Legs & Booty

Beach Yoga

Leave a Reply

