Wednesdays with the Arts: Indie Life – Hiatus Interrupted

indielife7

I took a hiatus from the Internet, except for mandatory financial stuff. The moment I got comfortable with my time off I remembered two things I had forgotten—the Indie Life blog hop, and I’m actually being interviewed and that will be online at the end of this month. So I came on and logged into my blog here to take part in the Indie Life blog hop as I am signed up to do. I won’t be on Facebook, although if things are still working correctly this blog will automatically post on one of my pages there. Okay, maybe I should log in to make sure.

What am I going to talk about this time? Music and writing.

Love in Music I don’t listen to music while I’m writing. I love music a lot and I find myself getting lost in the music. Either I have a movie playing in my head or I’m trying to figure out what notes are being played, or I’m compelled to go get my cello and see if I can work out some of the notes. Sometimes I can, sometimes I can’t. So I think it is clear why I avoid music while writing as much as possible.

Editing is a different story. Usually I edit in musical silence mode, but there are those times when I have to put music on to keep me going. I hate edits. Once I know how the story ends I really don’t want to have to read it five, six, or seven more times just to do edits. So when I hit that moment in editing where I can’t concentrate, where I’d rather cleanup than edit, that’s when I put on music.

Sometimes I do have that mental break trying to figure out the music, but most often I can edit and have music playing–so long as it’s music I have listened to a lot. I’ve already analyzed it so it shouldn’t distract me much.

Love in Music is available now on Barnes and Noble and Amazon. I’m going to leave you all with a song I found online. After you listen to the song click the picture at the bottom of this post to go see what the other Indie Life bloggers are talking about this month. As for me, I will be back to blogging more consistently in a couple weeks.

indielife7

 

Leave a Reply

