Wednesdays with the Arts: The Green Smoothies

I didn’t have a recipe for this, but I figured I could just use what I have and make up my own concoction. I don’t measure things so I can only give approximates on some things, but I will say that I have made the first smoothie three times and we really enjoyed it. The second smoothie I only made once and we enjoyed that too. My mom couldn’t tell the difference so that’s good since she liked the first one enough to tell me to get more of the ingredients to make it again.

I don’t have a juicer so I did all of this in my blender.

DISCLAIMER: I do NOT know your allergies so please don’t use things that you are, or might be, allergic too. I also do not guarantee that you will like it just because we did.

IMG_7021Kiwi-Green Smoothie ~ Capri Montgomery © 2014

(Um…I forgot I needed to take a picture of this and I just started drinking, which is why the glass — which wasn’t completely full in the first place — is missing half of it’s drink :)…oops)

Ingredients:

2-3 Kiwis (I used 3 the first day, but had to cut it to 2 due to dwindling fruit. It’s good both ways.)

1 Delicious Red apple (the apple was more medium-large in size.)

Approximately 1.5 Cups Baby Spinach and Baby Kale (I used more Spinach than Kale.)

¼ Cup Ocean Spray 100% Juice – Citrus, Tangerine, Orange (No Sugar Added)

½ Cup Water

¼ Cup Ice (not crushed)

Be sure to wash produce before you get started.

Put Spinach and Kale in blender. Peel fruits and slice to make for a little easier blending—put in blender. Add juice, water, ice.

I used the ice crush feature to get the process started and to break up the ice. Then I blended this for 1-2 minutes with my longest blend time being closer to 3 minutes on the first day.

Fill glass and enjoy.

This made 2 servings – 1 for me and 1 for my mom. It refrigerates well so you can always have a second cup later if you make too much.

I’m not sure on calorie count but you can do the research on the ingredients and figure that out for yourself if you are counting calories.

Smoothie #2

IMG_7037Green Supreme Smoothie ~ Capri Montgomery © 2014

I dared to be different…different for me that is. I also remembered to take a picture before drinking any this time ;).

Ingredients:

1 carrot

1 – Approximately 2” thick round cucumber slice. (As much as you like is fine I just don’t really like cucumbers so I didn’t use a lot. Note that if you add more cucumbers you’ll most likely taste the cucumber more.)

1.5 Cups Baby Spinach and Baby Kale (I used more Spinach than Kale.)

1 Delicious Red Apple

2 Kiwis

½ Cup Ocean Spray 100% Juice – Citrus, Tangerine, Orange (No Sugar Added)

1½ Cups Water

¼ Cup Ice (not crushed)

Be sure to wash produce before you get started.

Cut carrot into smaller pieces to make it easier for blending.

Slice cucumber in half (or into four sections) to make it easier for blending.

Put carrot and cucumber in blender.

Put Spinach and Kale in blender. Peel fruits and slice to make for easier blending—put in blender. Add juice, water, ice.

I once again used the ice crush feature to get the process started and to break up the ice and really get the heavier veggies broken into smaller pieces. Then I blended this for 2 minutes. (Blend until the little green chunks are not so chunky anymore. Basically, blend as much as you can.)

Fill glass and enjoy.

This made 2 servings – 1 for me and 1 for my mom. It refrigerates well so you can always have a second cup later if you make too much.

If you like it please feel free to share, just please give credit back to me and my blog. I have another set of ingredients I want to try, but I don’t have the ingredients right now. If I get them anytime soon I will try it and let you all know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

