Friday Dish: The Things We Regret

As I get older I find that I do have some regrets. Had I gone left when I went right would the outcome have been better? I think about that when it comes to my mom too. If she had aborted me as intended would she have had a happier life? In my mind I believe she would have.

Time machines don’t exist so there is no going back. But even if they did exist I still couldn’t go back and change things. I couldn’t go back and tell my mother to abort me and move on with her life so she could be really happy with no regrets because I wouldn’t have born to go back to tell her that. I can’t tell her, “don’t get married; you won’t be happy.” If she didn’t get married then I wouldn’t have been born. You get the point. Some things are unchangeable no matter how you slice it.

So…2014 is just around the corner and I’m nervous. I have a lot of big changes on the horizon and I’m worried. Am I doing the right thing? Is it going to work out? Am I going to regret it all one day? Then I think, if only I were psychic I would know the answer to these questions and I would also know the outcome of any decision I make before I made it. Now wouldn’t that be nice?

But, in the grand picture this change that I’m making is much needed. I should have taken the step three years ago, so I’m doing it now. Scared or not, I’m taking my life in a new direction…just as soon as I get everything together—which will with hopes be by the end of January.

So how did your year go? Was it everything you expected? Are you excited for 2014? Let me know in the comments.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week, same time, same place—new year.

P.S. I talked to my mom about this and she says she’s glad she had me, and that you never know how things could have been; you just have to appreciate what you have.

Leave a Reply

