Cello Diaries: Shifting for Progress

I have been working on the shifting exercises in my book for a little while. As with everything else, practice does make a difference. However another cellist online told me about this cello chat with cellobello and Sunday’s chat did get a little shifting talk in there. That was really good because the advice on the smoother shifting was something that helped me. So I have been trying to incorporate some of the advice in my shifting exercises. Some notes are easier for me to do smoothly than others.

Cello, just like life, is a learning process. And some days I really think I’m getting this and other days I wonder why I’m still even trying. When I question the why of my cello adventure I try to look back at where I was and compare it to where I am now.

Educationally, I have definitely made progress. I played violin in my school orchestra but I don’t think I really understood the theory behind music. So when I started teaching myself, slowing things down, and trying to focus on learning the best I could for theory and playing my goal was to try to learn as much as I could on the why and the how of cello playing.

Playing-wise, while I’ve gotten better I’m just not there. “There” being where I’d like to be or where I think I should be by now. That really sucks because sometimes it makes me wonder if I’ll ever get there.  Either I am extremely crazy slaving away at trying to get something I’ll never truly get, or I’m extremely stubborn and refusing to give up. Or I could be a little bit of both ;).

The quote that inspired me this week is this:

“In the confrontation between the stream and the rock, the stream always wins; not through strength, but through persistence.”
~ Buddha ~

Persistence…Yeah, I can do that.

The next Cello Diaries should be on the 26th of December.

Leave a Reply

