Friday Dish: The Challenge

I’m working on writing something new. It’s a challenge actually and I wasn’t sure if I could do it, but I started yesterday and did over 5k words on the first day so I’m glad the story came to life and I feel confident about it. I think I just needed to remove the idea “challenge” and just write it.

No, I won’t talk about it in detail yet. It’s a surprise. I will say it’s different and it actually came to me differently than usual. Usually I see my books as movies in my head and then I decide to write them. Sometimes I see them from start to almost finish and sometimes start to middle and other times just the start. But with this book I didn’t see it play out like a movie first. I literally sat there and struggled with what profession I wanted him to have. I knew his partial looks but not everything. My leading lady wasn’t even a factor really. But once the first scene idea came to me then it grew. I realized who he was, why he was doing what he was doing, and in that my leading lady developed as well. So far I don’t know where today’s writing session will take me, but I do know that the mystery of what this story will be seems to unfold with each keystroke.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week, same time, same place.

Leave a Reply

