Baking Cookies

I know Monday isn’t my typical blog day, but I have an author coming here on Wednesday for an interview and I really wanted to be able to share my adventure in the kitchen. So the only way to do that really, other than taking over Cello Diaries again, was to do a Monday blog.

I wanted to make these oatmeal cookies healthier…as if a cookie really can be healthy… Anyway, my mother loved them. She said that she can eat a lot of them and not have to worry about getting fat. I told her that I said they were healthier not extremely low in calories. As in I still suggest moderation.

I cut out the white sugar and used honey instead. The end product turned out very well.

So here is the modified recipe that gave me my version of oatmeal cookies with honey instead of white sugar. I would have added raisins but I didn’t have any to add.

½ cup + 6tbsp. Butter, softened

¾ cup firmly packed brown sugar

½ cup Honey (pure)

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1½ cups All-Purpose Flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

3 cups Quaker Oats (uncooked. Quick or Old Fashioned is fine)

(if using raisins use 1 cup of raisins).

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees. In large bowl beat butter and sugar on medium speed of electric mixer until creamy.

2. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well.

3. Add combined flour and baking soda while adding ½ cup honey

4. Add oats (and raisins if using them) and mix well.

5. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls / heaping tablespoonfuls (depending on intended size of the cookie) onto ungreased cookie sheet(s).

6. Bake 10-13 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheet; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.

These can be made into bar cookies too. Instead of the cookie sheet you would use a 13×9-inch metal baking pan, ungreased, and bake 30 to 35 minutes.

I don’t know how many calories these are, but if you feel like doing the research and the math you can find out the individual calories for each ingredient and add them up.

One comment

  1. Thanks Capri! I’m going to try these. I’ll take my cue from my grandson. If he likes them then I know they are a hit.

    Take care
    Belinda G

Leave a Reply

