Grow with Words Meets Cello Diaries

~ Buoyancy ~

1. a. the tendency of a body to float or to rise when submerged in fluid.
b. the power of a fluid to exert an upward force on a body placed in it; also: the upward force exerted.
2. The ability   to recover quickly from depression or discouragement.
3. The property of maintaining a satisfactory high level (as of prices or economic activity)

Source: Merriam-Webster Dictionary

Since I missed Cello Diaries, again, I’m combining the two posts this week. I’ll probably miss next week too. Basically I’m still practicing. I’m trying to have buoyancy and keep going even when I feel discouraged in life and with my cello playing.  

I have more fun with my own pieces than any of the others, but I’m still very much trying to work on the Swallowtail Jig. I love the song, just not when I try to play it. I keep getting stuck at the same place. I have slowed things down to a near crawl and it’s still not there. But you know, practice does make better and yesterday it was better than it was before. So maybe in another year I’ll actually have this measure sorted out ;). Okay, with hopes it won’t take that long.

Basically, cello is cello. There’s nothing really new to report. I’m still the same hard on myself cellist (in training) but this year I have been working on admitting my accomplishments to myself. You know it makes a huge difference in progression because the moment I stopped verbally beating myself up is the moment I realized I am actually getting better at this and that thought is what keeps pushing me forward.

I think when I stop admitting my accomplishments it’s when I will lose hope and when I lose hope I will lose the desire to keep going. So for me, admitting my progress so far has allowed me to look back at where I was, and to look at where I am now and if I can get this good (granted I still kind of suck) then I have hope that I can get better if I just keep trying. It’s not always easy, but you know sometimes you just have to suck it up and keep going. Buoyancy ~ rise to the top instead of sinking to the bottom. You might not float to the top of your spectrum. You may have to crawl, climb and claw your way there, but if you set your goals based on your wants, needs and ability, I think it’s doable. But if you set them based on what somebody else can do or what somebody else wants I really think you’ll be miserable the entire way.

Leave a Reply

