Cello Diaries: A Happier Diary

Cello Diaries Happy

Okay, so the last entry was kind of mixed, happy and not so happy so I’m changing it out for a happier diary entry. There is enough unhappy in life. So let’s see what happy news can I give about cello? Hmm…well, longer practice is fun and actually quite good so I’m happy about that.

I’m trying to make sure I don’t forget to do scale and arpeggio practice daily. Those can be fun when I try new techniques. Like if I do vibrato and lengthen a note, or I play legato for a series of notes, or I change the rhythm a bit. See there are ways to keep the routine interesting. I have to keep it interesting. When I’m not interested my mind wanders and I don’t accomplish much during practice when that happens.

The downside to today’s practice–well, I accidentally dropped my bow on the strings and it bounced off and whacked my fine tuners. I think I was reaching for something or something because I didn’t have my bow held as usual. Apparently, beating up the strings causes my cello to un-tune itself. That left me sitting there going, “all of you? Really, all of you?” So I had to spend the last part of my practice actually putting the strings back to where they were supposed to be. The bridge seems to be in the right place, but I’ll see how tomorrow’s practice goes. If she sounds off I’ll know I need to make some adjustments. She seemed okay when I put her away though.

Other than that, I’m having fun with the songs I’m playing. I find myself more interested in the folk tunes and Scottish and Irish tunes than anything else so I think that means I will most likely start playing more of those pieces and will probably not be a classical cellist at all. It’s not that I don’t like classical music. I grew up listening to it. But I really like more of a new age classical and folk tunes. Although I suppose one must master the classics before they can play new age classical so no skipping over Bach for me.

Leave a Reply

