Friday Dish: Take What You Want, Take What You Need

I’m not advocating stealing here. What I’m saying is that you have to take control of your life. This is what I called my year of change, and most of those changes I have been trying to make have been external–career, music skills, making more time for art. However, where I should have been focusing is internally. Instead of thinking I’m old and set in my ways–old is relative I know, I really should have been thinking it’s never too late (until you’re dead) to try to change the way you see the world. I can be positive for everybody else, but never for myself.

Words That Inspired

I followed Tina Guo on Facebook because I liked the CD that I just got of hers. Two of her posts reminded me of something I needed to think about. Her first one was ABC ~ Always Be in Control. This was followed with the reminder to be in control of your life and not to leave that control to somebody else.

I am in control of my life, but I do find that I have a tendency to try to live my life the way I think other people I care about greatly want me to live it. Will they be proud or disappointed if I go left when they wanted me to go right? Thinking like that has sometimes derailed me from my own dreams and I have only myself to blame for that because I have to take control. I have to realize that at the end of everything I am the one who has to live with the decisions I make. I had to realize that sometimes  you have to take what you want.

Opportunity Exists Everywhere

Tina Guo pointed out that opportunity is in abundance even in the seemingly negative. I needed to read this because of everything that is going on in my life right now. I’m more of a realist than an optimist. Some people may call it pessimistic, but I call it realistic because I look at the situation from the angle of what could really happen. I don’t look at the fairytale of happily ever after. I know, that’s unexpected line of thinking coming from a writer who writes primarily in the genre of romance.

I look at the hard work that goes into life and the fact that there are many times when the hard work goes in and nothing comes out. I look at the disappointments in my life–how hard I worked for something only to have it fall apart. That has been my life for a long time. However, maybe I should look at it as it wasn’t the right path for me to walk. If I reassess my goals and put everything I have into them, maybe I’ll land in the garden I am meant to be in even if it’s not the garden I thought I wanted. Sometimes you have to take what you need because what you need may be better for you than what you think you want.

Change for the Soul

I need to focus on changing more than just my external world. I think I already knew this, but I was so focused on the world around me that I neglected the world inside me. So my goal starting today is to surround myself with more positive people, to learn from them. To learn how to see the world not compiled of my failures, but of the blessings that I received from them. It won’t be easy for me, but I’m going to try.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week, same time, same place. Have a great weekend you all :).

 

Leave a Reply

