Friday Dish: Changes

I’m probably not the biggest fan of change. I find something that works and I get comfortable and typically I like being in that spot. I can totally agree on the “if it’s not broken” mantra. However, sometimes change is good, even if things are working it doesn’t mean that they can’t work better. So really it comes down to taking the leap, making the change, and hoping it works out. After all, you can always go back right? Well, no, sometimes you can’t go back so one must think before leaping. Don’t leap without thinking or you might land in a pile of something that you really don’t want to land in.

I have been chatting on Facebook about my year of change. I have been guarding the details close, and there are still some things I just can’t share right now. The year of change for me has been up and down. I think I have things worked out, thought out, planned out, and then it all falls apart and it’s back to square one. Okay, maybe not “all” as some things didn’t fall apart.

So what has been going on with my year of change? Well, I officially launched the new business. Sweet Temptation Designs. I was going to wait and try to have things perfect before launching, but sometimes you can’t wait for perfect. Actually, it’s not a good idea to ever wait for perfect since perfect doesn’t exist–but that’s a blog post for another time. I’m excited about this because I love being able to design. I took a computer graphic art program some years ago. The focus was on business marketing art, but it still went a long way in helping me have a starting point with book cover design when I needed to do it. I learned as I went, grew, changed things and got better. See, change is sometimes a good thing.

I’m near completion for the Web design program now…as in I have about three more major segments of the course left so I should, if all goes well, be finished before the end of the year. I’m trying to finish early. If I can’t finish early I must finish by February as if I don’t I’ll have to pay for a course extension. I think they’re trying to make sure people keep moving forward with the program and not stagnate and miss doing required classes on time. I don’t want to pay the course extension, and I like to finish early, so I’m working in overdrive trying to get it done. Once I’m officially done I can officially add it to the business services offered. Right now would be a bad time because I have several class design sites to work and I still have to redo my writing site and the new business site. So for now I’m focused on the things I can do with confidence, the needed skill level, and time.

So far this week I have been getting things set up for Facebook, making sure thee site is updated, and trying to progress forward with my year of change. I have been working on the business since last year. It’s about time I actually took the leap forward.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week, same time, same place. Have a great weekend you all :).

Leave a Reply

