Wednesdays with the Arts: Audible Arts

Well I didn’t get any sewing done. I planed to do some painting, but I didn’t get that done either. Yeah, it was an interesting week. Combine being busy as always with headaches and strange sleeping patterns and I just didn’t have the energy to really work on those kinds of arts over the weekend, and I haven’t had the time to work on them this week either. However, I have spent some time with the audible arts.

As some of you know I’m a C.I.T. (Cellist in Training). It’s hard work, and I’m self educating so that probably makes it harder. I love cello so it doesn’t bother me that I have to put in a lot of work to get where I want to go. There are days when I feel as if I’m so far away from my goals that I don’t think I’ll ever make it. And then there are days when I have a great practice and I think that maybe I can do this. Maybe I can aspire to be the best that I can be with cello playing even though I’m starting late in life.

Grunge violin background

I played violin years ago. I keep comparing my progress with cello to my progress with violin which is probably a stupid thing to do, but I can’t help it sometimes. What I can say is that I have learned a lot over the time I have been studying Cello. I have developed a lot. And while I still have a long way to go, I’m rather proud of where I am, where I have been, and where I have the ability to go.

Practice over this past week has been great. I’m getting back to writing my music like I did before. It’s nothing that will win me any awards or anything like that. It’s very amateur, but I’m okay with that because, well…I’m an amateur cellist who is still in training and I can only work with what I have while trying to develop as each day goes by.

So where are my trouble spots still, after all this time? Counting while playing. I just can’t seem to do it. I can play by ear. If I know how the piece should sound I can get it to match. But when I have to look at the music and play to somebody else’s beat…well, yeah, that just doesn’t go so well. For the few brief classes I had with cello I realized that my counting and the other guy’s counting were not at the same pace. He counted fast, I counted slow. We were both holding the half notes for two beats, but my two beats were just slower than his counted two beats. I was playing the piece the way I heard it when listening to the CD, and he was playing it the way he saw it. So counting is not my forte. It’s a really good thing I don’t have any desire to be in anybody’s orchestra then huh? Amazingly, I was in orchestra once and I was pretty good at it back then. I was also pretty good with math back then too and now I suck at math so maybe my counting while playing issues are related to my math issues. Oh well…nobody is perfect.

Happy Wednesday you all. Don’t forget to fill the day with art :).

Leave a Reply

