Wednesdays with the Arts: The Dress

I haven’t started it yet but I am determined to get to it–my dress that is. You see I have another dress in mind and I can’t work on it until I do the first creation I had in mind. I would work on it if I could, but I don’t have the fabric I want to use so I can’t. Basically, I feel like sewing something and so I think it’s time to get to it. I’m hoping today will be my day spent with the wearable arts. Of course there are appointments to be attended to and errands to be ran, and let’s not forget that I have to work too because I have books that need to be finished in both the writing and editing stages. Basically, it’s a busy day but I am hoping to get started on dress number one today. I think I’ll only get as far as drawing the pattern out and getting that cut out and maybe pinned to the fabric. I’m not sure but I’ll see how it goes once I start. Once I finish this one I hope to start dress number two and then I really need to do the cloak which is still on my list and I need to work on pants as I am not good with making those.

I need to spend a little time with the culinary arts too. I took the salmon out so I’ll need to cook that later. I’m not sure what I’m putting with it yet. I would love a salad, but I think I’m out of what I need to make one so I may have to find something else.

So outside of appointments and errands today is about writing arts, culinary arts and wearable arts. I’m mostly excited about the wearable arts. It’s time to see if I can turn this lovely fabric into the dress I have been dreaming up in my head.

IMG_2289

Have a wonderful Wednesday you all :).

2 comments

  1. I’m in the early stages of “re-finding” my love of sewing. It’s all I can think about. I do the same thing you do – have the vision of the dress I want before I find the material/pattern. The only issue, besides finding the time to sew, is finding the material! Happy sewing to you!

    • Thanks :). We moved and with things so busy I haven’t been sewing at all. I’m trying to get back to it as I do miss it. Finding good material seems so hard now days. I did get lucky and found a pretty material today so my second idea has changed. Once I finish the first dress I’ll tackle the second…provided I survive all the changes I have decided to make to the first dress ;). Happy sewing to you too :).

Leave a Reply

