Wednesdays with the Arts: The Art of Indie Life

I signed up for the Indie Life blog hop postings on the second Wednesday of the month. I’m not very chatty so I asked myself; do I really have anything to share? Well my answer was yes and no. I think what I have is the experiences I have encountered while being an independent author. Now I will say that I started this journey into indie publishing years ago. I believe it was 2006 or maybe 2007 around that time when I published my first print book via Lulu.com. I wasn’t really thinking about people buying it so much as I was just doing it. I had published with magazines (local and online), newsletters, e-publishers, e-magazines, poetry book composers, and the what not. I wasn’t new to the world of publishing. However, when I ventured into publishing e-books via Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Lulu it was new for me. I really didn’t know what to expect.

I uploaded the book to Amazon after much procrastination, mostly questions on if I could trust Amazon. I know that’s crazy since I had actually made purchases from them before. When I was in college they were a starving college student’s knight in shining armor…as in, they rescued me from the campus bookstore on many occasions. So having trust issues was an interesting issue to hold me back.

I released Dangerous Obsessions as my first book with Amazon. A couple months went by with no payment which I thought meant no sales. I didn’t realize I could check in the same place I uploaded the book and see my sales. Imagine my surprise when Amazon paid me my first royalties. Yes, I was doing my happy dance for a little over $400.00. I was unemployed and struggling because I couldn’t find work so while $400 may seem like nothing to most people, for me it was the check that helped me keep a roof over my head.

Fast forward to 2013 and I will say that the things I have learned in the world of Indie publishing I have had to find out the hard way, via trial and error, research and pretty much on my own methods. I know I read about all these great experiences and how wonderful other authors are to help, but unfortunately that has not been my experience. I have recently found a very nice author who was happy to answer a question I had regarding RWA. She was so nice about it and I’m thankful for that. I was afraid to ask her because I see other authors complain about people who ask them questions, and not wanting to help, so I hate to bother people. But she was really nice and she helped me. So, shout out thanks to Paige Tyler.

I can’t fault some authors for not wanting to help. I helped people. I gave freely of my knowledge and some people took advantage of me, used me and threw me away like an old tissue the second they had what they needed. If that happens enough I think it kind of pushes people toward the realm of “figure it out for yourself,” type thinking. So I don’t fault anybody for doing what they think is right for them.

My plan for however long I am on the Indie Life blog postings is to give you all a little information that I have learned and with hopes it can point you in the right direction to do more research of your own. I’ll also talk about the good points in Indie Publishing and other things regarding Indie Life. So please stick around, because there is more to come. Next month I’ll rehash a post I have done before and give you guys a look at the legal side of authorship and publishing.

Continue the hop via the link here: http://indeliblewriters.blogspot.com/p/indie-life.html

6 comments

  1. Thank you for sharing this Ms. Montgomery. I really appreciated it and empathize with your having felt used at times. It makes finding a person you like and trust that much more special. I have learned that while I may not be able to claim a lot of people that I feel are real friends, the fans can fill in the gaps with their support and can make the difference on the days being an indie author may not seem worth it. I look forward to your future blogs.

  2. Thanks for joining us in Indie Life! I think you’ll find this bunch extremely helpful! 🙂 Personally, I’ve always found that paying it forward is it’s own reward. You have to be careful not to spend all your time networking and helping others – the writing has to get done too! – but I don’t regret the time when I do.

    Looking forward to more posts from you!

  3. Capri, Hi! Glad you’re here and Kudos to you for being a self-publishing pioneer. I do get a lot of help from other writers, and I also feel like I have to learn a lot of stuff the hard way, too. Things change so fast. But it looks like one of the things you’ve done totally right is keep writing! Congratulations on your success! Heidi

Leave a Reply

