Wednesdays with the Arts: The Art of Music

I can’t speak for anybody else, but for me, music is magical. No matter how I’m feeling, sad, happy, somewhere in between, music always seems to speak to me. It relates to me; every mood, every disappointment, there’s a song for that. Now I know when the composer was creating these beautiful pieces they didn’t have me in mind; they don’t even know me, but that doesn’t mean that my heart and my mind can’t connect to their masterpiece.

I’m more of a classical with a twist fan myself, but I’m eclectic in my taste. I like the music from the sixties and beyond. I can get into Big Band music, and I have even heard Polka songs that have made me want to get up and dance. I just love music. Music can make everything better…well, almost everything.

Take for instance a movie–the action scenes or love scenes with the right music can amplify the viewer’s connection to the scene, to the characters, and make the overall movie viewing experience that much better. Silent movie producers knew this. Okay, so they didn’t have a choice back then, but the reality is they always picked music to fit the scenes, to convey the emotion that the characters were acting out. Why? Because there’s a song for that–for every scene, for every emotion there is a song that fits. And that song can either draw the viewer into the movie, or push them away. Picking music for a movie, or anything else really, is an art in itself. Brides-to-be and grooms-to-be know this; it’s why they spend hours going over the wedding song list, and take great care in picking their first dance song. It’s why a person can hear a song on the radio and remember exactly where they were the first time they heard it, what they were doing, what mood they were in, and why it struck such a chord with them that they can remember it, five, ten, fifteen years later. Music has that much power, and if we let it into our lives it could change everything.

Now, before I forget to tell you all, I have signed up for a 2nd Wednesdays of the month blog where I’ll have to post about Indie Publishing. I’m calling my part of this group venture the Art of Indie Publishing. I will talk about everything, pros, cons, hardships, heartaches, and joys. The cold, hard facts that some people gloss over, and others get fixated on. But this is an every month thing on the 2nd Wednesday of the month so I’ll have to mix it up so it doesn’t run out of steam. I can drop out at any time I want, but I would like to be able to give people a look at the world of publishing that nobody gave me. So if you have questions, shoot them my way and if I can answer them I will. You can contact me via my official Capri Montgomery website at http://www.caprimontgomerybooks.com.

That’s all for this Art Filled Wednesday on Wednesdays with the Arts. I’ll catch you on Friday for Friday Dish, where I have a surprise for all of you that brings my passions together and gives birth, in my opinion, to something great. Until then, have a great week you all :).

Leave a Reply

