Friday Dish: New Projects; Overcoming Fear

Okay, I’m not talking anything like fear of heights, bugs, floods, etc. I’m talking overcoming fear of failure, and fear of messing it up. There are a lot of things people could do for themselves yet they hire somebody else because they’re afraid to try it (and some just prefer to save their time for something else). Well, we’re moving and I have a project ahead of me. I’m starting small, but one day I might just jump ship and go for it. Right now fear, lack of knowledge and common sense tells me not to try such a big, detailed oriented project by myself.

You know what’s inspiring? I was reading a Yahoo article about a woman who didn’t know how to use a saw, but managed to build her own mini house with the help of her stepfather. I say good for her. I love that she was able to consolidate too. The house is like 130 sq. foot so she had to get rid of things she didn’t need. I’m having a hard time getting rid of night clothes I haven’t worn in a good five years simply because I think I might end up wearing them someday, and I paid a pretty penny for that Victoria Secrets set. Basically, I won’t wear it and I know that seeing as thought I haven’t worn it in all this time, so I really should get rid of it, but every time I try to put it in the bye-bye pile, it ends up back on the shelf. Perhaps that is fear of thinking I’ll get rid of it and then need it. Perhaps I should just suck it up and get over it by getting rid of the things I really don’t need.

Basically, we’re busy getting ready for a move and between getting the next place ready and getting everything out of the old place, I’m going to be really busy. If I miss a couple postings its because I’m hard at work trying to get it all together. I hope all of you are having a good week and that you have a really great weekend.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week, same time, same place.

Leave a Reply

