The Next Big Thing

Ten Interview Questions for the Next Big Thing

What is your working title of your book?

When the Heart Breaks is the title of my book.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

The idea for When the Heart Breaks came from my imagination and it developed using real life issues combined with fiction to create an emotionally packed romantic drama.

What genre does your book fall under?

I would say the contemporary romance genre best fits this book.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

This one is tough because I don’t actually watch television so I am not up to date on most of the actors around today and when I wrote this I really didn’t have any actors in mind for the part. I would say that this book would be great as a Lifetime Movie Network movie and as long as they pick good actors who can successfully deliver the character with complete honesty to the emotional depths that the character needs then in the words of a once great writer, “what’s in a name” :o).

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

To survive the storm that comes with a broken heart, Ailey and Antonio must work together or forever live with a shattered heart.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

My book will be self published.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m not sure. I actually don’t typically keep track of how long it takes me to write. I just write until the story is complete and I don’t worry about how much time it takes me to get there. Sometimes I notice, but I didn’t keep track with this book.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I don’t read a lot of contemporary romance. I’m more of a suspense-romance kind of woman, so I don’t know what other books are out there in this genre that somebody might compare this one to. Personally, however, I don’t compare my work to anybody else’s work because everybody is different and by extension we’ll all write differently.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My imagination is my inspiration. Sometimes I enjoy the movie in my head and move on. Sometimes my imagination nags me until I put pen to paper, or fingers to keyboard, and start turning the movie in my head into a book.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I think if you’re interested in books with emotional and psychological exploration then When the Heart Breaks might just be a book you’ll enjoy reading. Ailey and Antonio have both experienced a tragic loss and in the process of trying to heal themselves while keeping a promise they made to a dying woman, they find love. But as with anything in life, love is not easy and these two will have to overcome the one major obstacle standing between them if they plan to survive the storm to come.

Gynger Fyer (http://gyngerfyer.blogspot.com/) tagged me for the Next Big Thing blog and I have tagged Paige Tyler.

Paige Tyler (http://paigetylertheauthor.blogspot.com/) writes erotic romance, but what I like most about her writing is the emotional component and the fact that when I finish reading one of her books I really want to know what happens to the characters next.

 

6 comments

Leave a Reply

