Wednesdays with the Arts: Cookies You Say…

Going into the kitchen is an adventure, one I used to take more frequently than I do now. I just don’t have time to spend hours every day trying out new recipes or having fun with old ones. However, I did venture into the kitchen to make cookies I haven’t had a chance to make in a while.

These cookies are more seasonal for me because I can only find the mint and chocolate that I use coming up to the Christmas holiday season. I tried substituting Andes mint chocolate because I have baked with those without trouble, but these cookies really require NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Dark Chocolate and Mint Morsels and without Nestle the cookie just isn’t the same. It’s odd that I like making these cookies because I’m not a huge fan of chocolate. I can eat it sometimes, but most times I don’t like to eat it and I really can’t stand the smell of it…yet I will still try out recipes that involve using chocolate sometimes.

These aren’t my favorite cookies to make. I actually like making a recipe I have for wedding cookies. I have seen these cookies with so many different names I really have no idea what they should be called. When I was a kid I always saw them in the store at Christmas time with the name Christmas Cookies. No matter what the name, I like the recipe I have. Of course I changed it up a bit because…well…I like making recipes my own and creating something I know we’ll like or love. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t, but I have fun in the process. My favorite cookies that are now gone and I don’t have a recipe for are Archway’s Ice Box Pecan cookies. I used to eat those cookies as a kid and I loved them. Then they vanished from the store and there went that. I have been searching for a recipe that will get me as close as possible to the cookie I grew up loving to eat, but I have not found one yet.

What are your favorite cookies to make or to eat?

3 comments

Leave a Reply

