Dangerous Alpha Heroes Hop: What Makes an Alpha

Full Moon Bites’ hop is to celebrate all of those sexy and dangerous Alpha heroes in books who make us pant and know how to protect their lady love (or male love)—even if that love can protect her or himself quite well without him! 😉  No matter what time period they are from—or even if they are human.

Alpha heroes are dangerous to even the most independent woman. There’s something sexy and still sweet about a man who has a nice balance between being an alpha and knowing when to let go of the helm and let a lady just be the independent woman she is. If he is a really good alpha something about him and his character promotes trust—and trust is definitely needed to give up any control. Whether it’s in the boardroom or the bedroom, the alpha cop, military man or firefighter trying to save the leading lady’s life, or the cowboy trying to win her heart, without trust being an alpha means nothing. I like when I find a book where the leading man has just the right mix that makes him an alpha worth swooning over.

One of my favorite Alphas can be found in Linda Howard’s Mr. Perfect. Sam Donovan is rough around the edges, but his confidence and dedication to doing the right thing is entirely sexy.

Another strong Alpha male that I liked is in Linda Howard’s Open Season. Chief Russo is an alpha male who isn’t the type to shy away from a challenge and Daisy Minor is definitely a challenge. Small towns, hot man in charge and plain Jane librarian makes for a fun and sexy read.

In celebration of the hop I would like for you to meet one of the alphas from my Men of Action series, Thomas McGregor–a serious alpha if ever there was one. Thomas is in search of the man who betrayed his military team—a betrayal which cost the life of everyone in his team and left him clinging to life. No matter how much time passes he won’t give up his search. His private investigation firm is doing well enough for him to turn down new assignments so that he can devote time to his mission, but when Thena Davis walks into his office bringing a perplexing mystery with her he can’t resist the beauty in front of him. Learning of the attempts on her life makes Thomas take a new direction with her case, one that involves keeping her safe; whether she wants him to or not is of no concern of his. What Thomas doesn’t realize is this independent and rambunctious woman is going to take a lot to tame.  Can Thomas pursue his own vendetta while trying to solve Thena’s mystery and keep her alive? Find out in Secrets and Lies available now on:

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Lulu

All Romance E-books

Comment below and tell me about your favorite alpha males and what makes them your favorite for a chance to win a PDF copy of Watch Over Me. One winner will be chosen on September 24, 2012. Don’t forget to continue to follow the hop for your chance to win prizes from the authors participating in this hop. Just click the link below and hop onward.

57 comments

  1. Not sure I have a favorite, but I do like it when the alpha male isn’t a jerk all at the same time. TO me there’s a difference in being confident and cocky, being protective and being controlling. I have only read a few books where the men seem like controlling jerks more than sexy alphas.

  2. Thanks for the information on the alpha men. They resemble the men in your Men of Action series. I have enjoyed reading your books. You have a great talent for writing. Keep it up.Each time I read one of your books I always fall in love with your lead alpha male. It’s hard to say which one is the best as they all are good. But I do love Thomas McGregor.

  3. Woohoo! Great theme for a hop! I love Dangerous Alpha Heroes!
    I Love how protective they are of their woman even when they KNOW she can kick some major ass.
    My favorite “Dangerous Alpha Hero” is Jonas from Lora Leigh’s Breeds. He is the Baddest of the Bad.
    Thanks for being part of the hop and for the chance to win.
    reneebennett35(at)yahoo(dot)com

  4. Well Miz Capri, I have to say my recent fav alpha hero is in the book “Leader of the Pack” by Lynn Richards. It’s a shifter book and he’s the alpha male….Intelligent, sexy, fair and loved his mate! It surprised me. I luv’d the story which I couldn’t put down until I was finished. She is a new auhor to me but I will be reading more of her books. Thanks for the opportunity Capri Take care!

    Belinda belgre@comcast.net

  5. Going to have to check out those Linda Howard books, they sound like geat alphas would love to read about.
    Thanks for the giveaway.
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

    • I really enjoy Linda Howard’s books. Her earlier works are my stronger favorites with Mr. Perfect being at the top of the list. I hope you do get a chance to check out her work because she’s really good. Thanks for stopping by and commenting :). Enjoy the hop.

  6. There is many Alpha’s that I have enjoyed in previous books …(I read A LOT)
    The one that stuck with me for the longest is Clint (from Promises Prevail)
    Determination and creativity are some of the qualities I personally like in an alpha male..
    Some alpha can be confident without being too cocky would be great balance…

    Great question thansk for being a part of the hop

    BeckeyWhiteATgmailDOTcom

    • Clint from Promises Prevail sounds like he must be a good alpha. Creativity and determination are great qualities. I agree that confidence without being too cocky is a great balance. Thanks for stopping by my page and commenting :). I hope you are enjoying the hop.

    • Oh the shy guy gets the boot :). Well, alphas are a draw and I think that’s confidence. They know what they want and they go for it. Confidence is really sexy. Thanks for coming by the my stop on the hop.

  7. It’s more a type than a person. The dominant, protective kind. Yeah, sometimes an asshole but only to keep you safe. And willing to listen at least sometimes, a know it all is not a turn on. And while a ripped six pack and buns of steel are nice, a BRAIN is a MUST!

    • Yes, a brain is definitely a must. Smart is so sexy. I know that for me sometimes even when I’m not initially physically attracted to a guy if he starts talking and he’s smart it’s like, “oh please talk to me some more,” :). The protective kind is good too…I think for me he would lose his sexiness for sure if he ran off and left the supposed love of his life to get killed when he could have helped.

    • I have been noticing that everybody is posting their email addresses in the comments lately. Just so you all know when you’re doing the initial comment on here where it asks for name, email address, web site…if you put the correct email address there, while it won’t show to the public, it does show to me when I’m approving the comments so I’ll still have your email address. You know, in case you don’t want to post the email address in the comment section :). Thanks for stopping by. Enjoy the rest of the hop :).

  8. Favorite dangerous, sexy alpha is a tie between Bones from Night Huntress Series(Jeaniene Frost) & Barrons from the Fever series(Karen Marie Moning). Thanks for the hop and the chance to win!
    ehaney578 at aol dot com

  9. Curran from The Kate Daniels series and Roarke from The Eve Dallas series because, besides being sexy, they love their women unconditionally.

    acm05atjuno.com

  10. I have such a hard time choosing my favorite alpha because there are so many great ones. Raphael from Guild Hunter series and Hawke from Psy/Changling series both by Nalini Singh, Acheron from Dark Hunter series, Laurann Dohner New Species series is full of Alphas as well as Lora Leigh’s Breed series! They are all super confident, protective, sexy and dangerous!

    susanmplatt AT hotmail DOT com

  11. Ethan in The Trap by, Indigo Wren is one of my favorite heroes! I loved him. The only thing wrong with the book is that it ENDED!! LOL I did not want to say good-bye. Maybe one day she will write a sequel or even a short story. (hint hint if she sees this. LOL)
    Thanks for the contest!!!!!!!!!!!
    prettyunicorn78@yahoo.com

    • :). I don’t think she’ll see this, but you never know so drop all the hints you want. It’s great you loved the book so much. I really enjoy when that happens for me and I put a book down and want to know more about the characters I was just reading about. Thanks for stopping by and commenting :).

  12. My favorites would have to be:
    From Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark-Hunters: Ash, Sin, Fang, & Dev
    From Gena Showalter’s LOTU: Strider, William, & Aeron
    From Kresley Cole’s IAD: Bowen & Lothaire
    From JR Ward’s BDB: V & Z
    From Lori Foster’s Edge of Honor: Dare, Trace, Jackson, & Spencer
    They all appeal to me on different levels 🙂
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!
    cassandrahicks1989@yahoo.com

  13. Love Linda Howards books! All the Mackenzie men are some of my favorite Alpha Heros. Especially Zane. No, Chance, No, it’s Joe for sure. Wait, it’s Wolf. Heck! Can I go back to all of them??? 😉 Thanks for the giveaway!

    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

  14. I like my Alphas, protective, intelligent, loyal, amusing, damaged and redeemable!
    I have too many faves to pick just one — I love Curran from the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews, Severn from Michelle Sagara’s Chronicles of Elantra series and Terrible from Stacia Kane’s Downside Ghosts series.

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com
    WordPress: BookAttict

    • I know there are so many alpha male characters that it makes it hard to pick just one. The great thing is that you don’t have to pick just one. You can tell us about a few…but probably not all :). Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  15. I love alpha heros! I cant really pick a favorite, i have way to many. But right now, im stuck on Laurann Dohners books and her heros….hot! 😉 Thanks for the awesome hop and giveaway!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  16. I love Wrath from the BDB series because he’s a total bad-ass and I love Valerius from Seize the Night because he’s bad with a soft side.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

Leave a Reply

