Friday Dish: Hopping while Knitting

Monday starts the blog hop that I signed up for…I have never done a blog hop before and I thought it looked like fun. In addition to this month, I am scheduled for one in October and November. I want to sign up for the December, January and February ones once they are open. It sounds fun so I just thought, why not go for it you know. Well, the first one, Monday’s hop, is going to be a learning curve for me. I have been thinking about the post and what it should be to go along with the actual theme of the hop and to answer the question (or what I think is the question) for the hop. I have been thinking about the giveaway and I’m still trying to figure out which book I should offer because I’m torn between two of them. Since the hop has to be up by 12:01 a.m. on the 17th I will post it late Sunday evening/night as I will probably be asleep at 12:01 a.m. on the 17th. I checked with the hostess of the hop and it is okay for me to post to the blog here as usual so other than the Monday Hop post there really won’t be anything different by way of the usual blog themes on Wednesdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. Although I should do something different for the Wednesday post. You all are probably sick of reading about knitting and there are other arts to talk about…I just haven’t been working so much with them lately. Unless you want to know about my adventures in cello playing…which are not going all that badly by the way :).

Speaking of knitting…Unfortunately, I thought I was almost done because I based the fit of the scarf on my size…I know, fitted scarves probably sound crazy, but it will make sense once I explain. I wanted the scarf a certain length and I thought for sure within the next 2-3 inches I would have it. But, that’s 2-3 inches on me. The scarf isn’t for me. So while I was showing my almost doneness to my mom she said, “it will have to be longer for me.” So I draped it around her neck and sure enough she’s right. She’s taller than I am, but she is also more…hmmm… well endowed in the breasts area than I am, so the scarf is just falling at her upper abdomen. I have so many more inches to add to this scarf now so my anticipated completion date is blown out the water. She’s not in a hurry for it so no stress there, but I’m kind of ready to practice something out of my bead knitting book—it’s just a swatch, but I have already purchased the beads and I want to see if I can do it or not. It shall have to wait as the scarf takes priority right now.

Between writing, editing, trying out new cooking recipes, and knitting I think I can honestly say it has been a very busy week.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week; same time, same place. Happy weekend to all of you :).

Leave a Reply

