Friday Dish: If I Edit You

Friday once again. This week I finished writing one of my stories and that means it went on the editing list with the other story so for most of these past few days I have been editing. I’m still editing actually. It’s not my favorite part of the writing process, but it has to be done so there’s kind of a suck it up and get on with it type of thing for me when it comes to edits. There’s kind of a “book, if I edit you once you’ll have fewer mistakes. If I edit you twice there will be even less. If I edit you until I’m tired of looking at the same pages over and over again, you’ll be as close to perfect as I, an imperfect being, can get you and then you’ll go off to the editor who will edit you some more.”

I do a lot of research and editing for my books so the process of writing really is fun, and the first couple rounds of edits aren’t so bad either. I hope to finish editing the current book that I’m working on edits for this weekend. Next week I would really like to get back to work on writing the book in next year’s Men of Action series release, and this year’s Christmas season story. Both books have been works in progress for a while now so it would be nice to focus on them and finish them before my mind goes down the rabbit trail of yet another story that I just “have to” write :). Plus I have plenty of stories on the list of stories I need to either finish writing, or start writing. I really want to get back to work on a science fiction story I started writing years ago, but have yet to finish. I finally have the handwritten sections of the story typed, so that’s progress. I have another story I want to finish, but it’s handwritten and I need to find it. We have moved so much that I know it’s in one of the crates…I just don’t know which one. And since we’ll be moving again I am sure when I start unpacking to repack only the things we really want to/need to keep I’ll come across it and I’ll pull it out so I can work on it.

Other than editing I’m getting ready for the August book releases. From the Men of Action series I have Explosive: Deadly Connections, and from the Adventures Through Time series I have Hydra scheduled for release.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week, same time, same place. Have a great weekend you all :).

2 comments

  1. I’m selecting stories to edit at the moment. I have a huge backlog needing dire attention, must say I like your edit once, edit twice analogy!

Leave a Reply

