Friday Dish: Productive Meets Unproductive

While I managed to get a lot of work in this week it still feels as if it was an unproductive week. I invested more time in sewing than usual because my mom wanted the top by Saturday. Of course she decided that she wants a different top instead so I abandoned the other top for the new top and that’s starting all over again. I really wanted to have it done in time for Saturday morning, but I felt sick yesterday so I crawled into bed in the late afternoon and there is where I stayed until two o’clock this morning. Clearly, I didn’t get much work done on the top yesterday (some, but not as much as I’d like). I’m afraid it won’t be done in time because in addition to sewing I also have books to write and books to get ready for release.

Basically, this week just feels as if I haven’t done as much work as I usually do. I don’t like that feeling. I know everybody says I have to cut my hours working, and that I need to take more breaks, but honestly, doing either of those things makes me feel as if I’ve had a rather unproductive week. I have decided to stop listening to everybody else and continue my insane seventeen hour workday with sporadic breaks. Honestly, I just can’t take another week where I feel as if I could have done more, but didn’t.

I also need to get some research done for upcoming books and while I’d love to rely fully on the Internet I know that I’m actually going to need to speak with someone who is an expert (or relative expert) in the field. I hate bothering people, but I’m also shy. I think my reluctance to go ask questions is based on both the feeling that I’m bothering somebody and the fact that I’m shy and would prefer to send emails. I did all of my research online for Fahrenheit, and I learned a lot about the procedures in that area’s wildfire response teams, but now I think I need more information. I have too many fire related stories in the future books so I’m bound to need to speak with somebody eventually. Of course, I’m procrastinating and hoping I can find everything I need (or at least enough to write fiction combined with a dash of facts) online.

So now you know something about me: I’m shy, I hate bothering people, and I hate feeling unproductive because it makes me feel lazy. I hate that lazy feeling; I really do.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week; same time, same place. Have a great weekend you all :).

Leave a Reply

