Wednesday’s with the Arts: A Thief By Any Other Name Is Still A Thief

Sometimes I very much like not knowing certain things. And sometimes I realize it’s crucial to know. Yesterday I found out, inadvertently, that my work, my hard work that I care very much about even if some people don’t, has been stolen, and sold. I had this problem on Amazon with one of their private sellers and it was easy to know about because all these print books just kept popping up on Amazon and the cost of each book was so insane that I wondered why anybody in their right mind would pay that. I also don’t sell print books on Amazon so it was just as easy to contact Amazon (several times actually) and get the books taken down. Problem solved right? Wrong. Because for every thief out there that disappears after much hard work to make it happen, another one surfaces. It’s like the Lernaean Hydra…there are just too many heads to really kill the beast.

My outrage is twofold on this one because I feel really badly about readers who don’t know, because I feel as if they get scammed into doing something illegal. And my heart goes out to anybody who gets sucked into that. My other issue is that it hurts me. I would never go into your house and steal your valuables, so why would you come into my house, my world, and do that to me or any other author, artist, musician?

Whether you like the book, love it or hate it; I love it. I worked hard on every single book that I release and those works are a part of my heart. I know some people don’t care if they steal a person’s work. I know some try to justify it six days to Sunday and no matter what the law says, no matter what morality dictates, they’ll never care that what they’re doing is wrong. But I also know there are some of you who do care. There are some of you who prefer to be honest and do things lawfully. So for those of you who are honesty inclined, my heart goes out to you when you find yourself in a position of doing something illegal without even knowing that you’re doing it.

So, to help you honest people avoid at least some of the scams, I will tell you where I sell my books and where you can lawfully buy them. I sell in four places only: Lulu.com, Amazon.com, Barnesandnoble.com, and Allromanceebooks.com. There is no place else where I sell my books.

To put things in perspective as to how much buying pirated books hurts the writer please take a look at this site: http://www.epublishabook.com/2012/02/18/epublishing-week-in-brief-13th-to-17th-of-february/#axzz1wIqLeu7p as it has an excellent breakdown of one guy who’s books have illegally been downloaded more than 92,226 times. That’s the number they stopped counting at because the numbers just kept going up. And those numbers come from just one site. That’s not including all the other scam sites out there.

I wish I could say this were a happy Wednesday with the Arts, but right now it kind of sucks.

One comment

  1. Good post Capri. My heart goes out to you. Truly! I understand when your hard work is taken and you aren’t given recognition for it. I will do my best to make sure I do a llittle more research to make sure they are legit when purchasing books from any online vendor. I trust others will do the same. Take care.

    Belinda

Leave a Reply

