Friday Dish: New Releases and Sewing Setbacks

It’s Friday! It’s a holiday weekend here so for some of you I know you have a long weekend ahead and I hope you have found something enjoyable to do; maybe a little rest so you can recuperate and be ready to start the work week all over again when the time comes. For those of you who have to work…well, I hope you love what you do enough to enjoy it.

This week I have been busy working on my own passions—writing. Heart of Danger released yesterday on All Romance E-Books, Lulu, Barnes and Noble Nook and Amazon Kindle. It’s the first book in the Special Ops series, and I’m rather excited about it and the series. I’m working on the second book now. Of course while I write this one I keep thinking of all these other stories to include in this series…in addition to the ones I already had planned. There’s kind of this, “ooh, that would be fun,” and “Oh, what if this happens, and then that…” Yes, the story ideas just keep coming and I think I have changed the idea for Jet’s story at least three times. It shall be interesting to see which one my mind actually decides to run away with when the time comes. Preston’s story is a definite right now and I don’t anticipate changing his. Then there are all the other books in this series and I just keep thinking and thinking…lol. It’s all good, but trying to keep the series from getting too much longer is rather difficult with all these story ideas floating around in my head.

Other than writing and editing I have been sewing. This dress is really difficult. In fact, it’s the most difficult thing I have made…ever. It’s more difficult than when I first started sewing…at least I think so anyway. I can’t get the foundation to go in correctly and so I’m still stuck on the top part of the dress. I have decided today I will work on the bottom, just to give myself a break from the stress that is the top of the dress. Once I finish the bottom I’ll try to get back to the top and with hopes, I’ll have an entirely new outlook on how to make this thing work. Once the top is done I’ll just have to connect the two pieces, put the finishing touches on and tuck the dress away in my closet. So far I like the dress less than I thought I would. Maybe once it’s done I’ll feel differently.

On average, I tend to make pieces more than once if I really like them, but I am definitely not in any danger of ever making this pattern again. I’m just waiting to tuck the pattern away in the bottom of the pattern bin and then I’ll move on to another dress—one I’ve actually made before. I was going to go straight for the corset next, but I really want to do the dress. I’ll do the corset when I finish the dress and then I’ll move on to…skirt and top…I think. Of course by the time I finish my current project my projected project schedule could change some :).

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week; same time, same place. Happy Friday everybody and I hope you have a fabulous weekend!

Leave a Reply

