Never Post In Anger

I understand why they say never post in anger because usually a person says something they can’t take back. So when I posted my FB post I tried to moderate my anger. I didn’t mention names, but the person who did it will certainly know who they are. As a writer I assume other writers will extend the same professional courtesy to me that I will to them. Unfortunately, my trust is often misplaced and sometimes I find that my trust has been taken for granted. I don’t like being used. I don’t think anybody does actually. I ask myself why I keep falling for it. I mean this is the second time another “writer” has pretty much used me just for the information they can get from me in order to advance their own agenda.

Right now I’m hurt. My mother said to me, “let it go. You’ll get over it.” But that was right after she said, “You should have known.” Maybe that’s the part that hurts the most. I should have known. I shouldn’t have fallen for it. I shouldn’t have trusted. And maybe what hurts even more is that the next person that comes along, bringing smiles and perceivably benign friendship, I’m going to wonder if they’re really who they claim to be. Are the friend, or foe? Yes, I hate being used. And it’s not just about the fact that I had something stolen from me. It’s about the fact that every time somebody follows the befriend, be nice, betray tactics, it shreds a little piece of me–that piece that gives trust without immediate suspicion. So, this is time number two, and all I can say is you know who you are. You know what you did. And I hope that one day, you’ll understand why it was wrong.

Now it’s time for me to follow my brilliant mother’s advice and let it go, get over it, and not make the same mistake in the future.

 

2 comments

  1. It is sad when people do the things they do. It’s wrong. and in the end they usually get what I have come to know as justice. No good can come to a person like the one you have describe. Good you have decided to do as your mother suggest and let it go.This person mark my words will fare badely, her/he just reward for their wrong doing. Remember the Almighty God hate a theif.

    • Yes, mom is usually right on these things. I think I just needed to let it out so I wouldn’t keep it locked inside of me and then have it just make me angry in the process. I’m taking her advice and I’m moving onward.

Leave a Reply

