Friday Dish: I Was Actually Serious

I finished Fashionably Dead and managed to get through two rounds of edits. I want to get my proof copy so I can edit some more. I find that I catch things even after I get the print copy. Something about reading on the printed page, I guess, just makes some of those mistakes easier to catch.

I also found myself thinking of a title for one story that ended up becoming a title for another story, and then I thought of more related titles that ended up becoming a new series. The series will probably start next year. I’m not rushing any of my books and the vision I have for this series kind of keeps me closer to the mystery, suspense, hint of romance, writing that I love. So right now I have about five or six titles, with two of the story plots planned already. I think this series will be more of a book a year, or two a year, type thing. I guess it really depends on what other books I’m working on and which stories demand my attention, but I really do think this series is going to take me a little longer with each book than my usual writing time. I see that as a good and bad thing. The good part is that I’m giving myself time. The bad part is that I’m giving myself time; lol. I think of new story ideas every day and I’ve always been the type who needs to write them. So that’s why I have like twenty plus stories either started or plotted and waiting to be started right now.

I asked you all earlier in the week for name suggestions for the lead female police detective character. I was serious about that because I thought it would be fun to get my readers, and even the non-readers of my books involved in the story on some level. I really wanted you all to have a part in picking the name. I thank those of you who have been serious about your suggestions and I will be adding the names to the list so that I can narrow them down for voting next month.

Outside of all of the aforementioned things, I added some new links to the Around Town page here on the blog. I don’t want to get too carried away on the page, but I’ll probably add a few more of interest and if you see one or more that you like you can click in and within those pages you’ll be able to find additional links. It’s just a starting place here and from there you can explore.

I’m also officially working on the new sewing project. Oh my :/ I’m not sure how I feel about it. It’s a huge project for me and I’ve already messed up once…and I’m only at the pinning and cutting out stage! It wasn’t one of those “oh it’s completely ruined” screw ups, but it wasn’t one of those acceptable screw ups either. All the pretty lines distracted me and I missed my cutting line while pinning three of the pieces, but I only cut out one piece before realizing I should have cut at the shorter line. Basically, I managed to waste fabric so I’ll have to use the pieces of fabric for something else someday. I’m still pinning and cutting and marking…there’s so much more to do. I think I’ll be lucky if I can get started with actually putting this thing together by the middle of next week. And on top of that, I decided to knit a blanket instead of a scarf so none of my arts and crafts projects are destined to be completed any time soon. Oh well, lessons in patience I guess.

That’s all for this time. More Dish next week, same time, same place. Have a great weekend :).

2 comments

Leave a Reply

