Friday Dish: Getting Married

I guess I always knew it would happen eventually. When I was younger I figured by twenty-one, maybe twenty-two. So when I got my first Corporate America job at the age of sixteen I just started buying stuff. I was in JC Penny when I saw a fabulous ring pillow on sale. I haven’t seen one like it since so I was always glad that I bought it. But I didn’t stop at the pillow. I bought the guest book, the certificate holder, the cake knives, a cake topper, favor bottles, wine glasses, and God knows what else I bought during those years. I think part of it might be just because I liked buying stuff that I really didn’t need. That would explain why I have a dozen measuring cups (if not more). The other part was that I actually knew that it would happen someday. I figured after my acting career took off and I had some time to travel and get to “know thy self,” that I would meet a man (probably an actor that I was crushing on at the time) get married and such would be life.

Fast forward several years and by the time I hit twenty-one I pushed the year of marriage back to twenty-six. And every year, I continue to push and push, and push some more. I think that it’s safe to say that now I tend to say, “I’m not getting married,” more than I say, “maybe someday.” Honestly, I don’t see myself ever getting married. So now I have all of this stuff that I can’t quite get rid of, because hey, I might actually need it one day (I did train to be an event planner and weddings was a huge part of that training, so if I ever get back into it, I can decorate my office at least). Also, I kind of think the items are all unique and cute and I haven’t seen anything on the market like them since. I did mention in another blog that I find it hard to get rid of things, and these would be some of those things. They have made several moves with me, across country, back and back again, and every time I pack, they go in the box wrapped in loads of bubble wrap and packaged with care.

So, why would a suspense romance novelist with a few of the necessary items for a wedding day decide not to get married? Simple; the suspense part probably plays in, but I just think that the sane people always end up with crazy people. Seriously, I’ve watched one too many 48 Hours and American Justice episodes growing up. But it always seems as if the sane, “such a nice guy/woman” people end up with the crazy psycho who butchers them in their sleep. Then there’s the religious aspects, combined with my independent nature, combined with my age. I’m getting old. Men like young women. And on top of that, I don’t think I really want to get married—ever. I like being single. So a while ago I decided that maybe I’d just stay single for life. I really like that idea actually…Unless Hugh Jackman (as Wolverine) clones himself and donates his clone to me, and then I might change my mind on that one.

So why did this end up in this Friday Dish post? Simple answer is that I’m still unpacking. We’re almost done, but there’s still quite a bit to be done and I have to do it in between working and cooking dinner and cleaning, etc. So while unpacking I found my marriage certificate holder and a lot of other things. I’m almost afraid there’s something else wedding related hiding in one of those packaged crates. I guess I’ll never know until I finish unpacking.

That’s all for this post. More Dish next week, same time, same place.

Leave a Reply

