Friday Dish: Thinking About Changes

I can’t believe the month is almost over. I can’t believe my birthday is just a couple weeks away, and I can’t believe how quickly time seems to be going. Clearly it’s not going any faster than it ever has. There are still twenty-four hours in the day, seven days in the week and twenty-eight to thirty-one days in the month, but the older I get the faster time seems to go. I’ve heard other people say that before, but I never understood it until now.

My theory for the “time’s going faster” feeling is that when we get older we have more stuff to do in the day so before we know it, the day is over and we either have completed everything, or we still have ten things on the to-do list. Or, maybe it’s that we start to realize there’s only so much time left in life, nobody lives forever, and maybe there are still things on the individual want-to-do list. I don’t know there could be a gazillion reasons for the “wow, end of year already,” feeling, but all I know is the older I get, the faster the days seem to go.

So, thinking of yet another year going by I started thinking about, what else? Changes. I would so love to move back out west next year, but I know that’s not going to happen. So, I’m trying to find a comfortable compromise somewhere nearby. I don’t have a lot of time to do it either because before I know it my lease will be up and I will need to either renew some place where I don’t want to be, or move. So, I need to find a new place to live within the next couple months.

Other than that I’m thinking of superficial changes. I have no idea what to do with my hair. I’m not, let me restate that, not, cutting my hair. I’m not coloring it either. But I do need a different style. I’m really comfortable with the everyday ponytail now. Hey, I workout everyday and I work from home, a ponytail looks great on me, but it’s also fast and easy. However, if my tickets to next year’s symphony show ever arrive I’ll want to do something other than a ponytail for the night. I guess, over the next few weeks I’m going to have to start playing around with my hair to see what I might want to do with it on a regular basis and also on a night out basis. Amazing, when I was younger I spent more time keeping the hair and nails decorated nicely, but now I just don’t care that much about doing those fun, frilly designs on my nails, or all the fun twisty looks for my hair. I haven’t let myself go. I still take care of my looks, but I just don’t invest a lot of time into coming up with new ways to do my hair or decorate my nails (they’re short now anyway for cello practice so decorations really aren’t needed). Maybe next year I can get back to that a little…or not…I don’t know.

I’m thinking of superficial changes and I can’t think of anything to do, other than hair style. I have plenty I want to do on a non-superficial level. I hope to get into music school next year. Then there’s writing, knitting, sewing, baking…speaking of baking. I want to make a nut cake that I don’t even have a recipe for so I’m just going to make one up (I do that a lot actually). I was going to do it yesterday, but I made the ice cream and then realized that I didn’t have much sugar left, so there was no way I was going to make a cake. And no, I’m not going to brave the stores today…maybe tomorrow, but definitely not today. So, no sugar–no cake.

Other than the usual activities of sewing, knitting and working on the Men of Action series, the new Shadow Hills series, and all the other books just sitting in the waiting room waiting for me to write them, there’s not much else to dish on for this week.

So, more dish next week; same time, same place. Have a great weekend everybody.

 

Leave a Reply

