Friday Dish: Dating Dos and Don’ts

This week I have been playing around the Internet reading articles I wouldn’t normally read and thinking of how crazy the world of dating has actually become. I was on Yahoo Shine and there were two articles that I clicked in to read. I have to admit, the comments are often more entertaining than the article itself. At the time when I actually read the articles there were only like ten comments or so on one of them and maybe twenty on the other.

Anyway, one article was about first dates and flowers. Now I have to admit I think it’s rather sweet if a guy brings flowers to a first date. I love flowers and rarely do I ever receive them as a gift unless I’m giving myself a gift that is. So the idea was more “oh, how sweet,” educing for me. I didn’t realize it would be so controversial for others. Some of the men thought women expect too much. I don’t know how flowers equate to being too much, but a few of these guys thought so. Others thought it was setting the bar too high. In other words, men are beneath sweet gestures even if those gestures are just done from time to time. I don’t men; it doesn’t seem as if women, or some men, have very good ideas about what you all are capable of doing. I can only imagine what the rest of the comments focused on, but I have yet to go back to continue to read. How could something as sweet as flowers become so “hot topic,” debate?

Personally, I think even a single wildflower is nice, but that’s just because I think it’s really quite sweet for a guy to bring flowers to a date. Flowers are really beautiful…some of them anyway. Of course I’m going on the premise that I know this guy and he’s picking me up at home. If he’s not picking me up at home and we’re meeting at a local spot then one single flower is much easier to manage than an entire bushel of them. I don’t know…I just think it’s sweet for a guy to bring flowers on occasion and I don’t find it creepy to have it done on the first date. But that’s just me. What do you think? Vote in the poll and then, if you want, tell us why you feel the way you feel about flowers and first dates.

Poll:

Flowers on the first date a Do or a Don’t?

  1. Do
  2. Don’t
  3. Maybe
7 comments

  1. I think it is nice. Remind me of the olden days. To bad times have changed so much that people think that something is wrong with it. It seem as if something have gotten loss with the younger people these days.

  2. There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

  3. I am not inclined to bring flowers on a first date. First dates are really exploratory affairs and flowers make it too formal. If things work out, then the flowers can flow. Of course, if I had knowledge that the girl I was going to date really, really liked flowers…Tay…I would show up with a dozen or two!

    • :). I love flowers…well, some of them anyway. I guess I get that in today’s day and age it might put some people off to get flowers on the first date. I never looked at it as making things formal so if I looked at it from that standpoint I’d still think it’s really sweet, but I get why somebody else wouldn’t. It is rather “old fashioned,” though.

Leave a Reply

